Nutrition website

Proclamation of Hunger Action Month 2022 | City of Kyle, Texas

WHILE, according to Feeding America, the the pandemic has hit families the most who were already facing hunger or who are one paycheck away from facing hunger; and

WHILE, households with children are more likely to experience food insecurity, and many of these households do not qualify for federal nutrition programs like the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program and visit their local food banks and other food programs to additional support; and

WHILE, The Hays County Food Bank represents a countywide effort to provide nutritious food to food insecure people in the greater Hays County area, made possible through the generous contributions of individuals, organizations civic, local government and business; and WHEREAS in 2021, Hays County Food Bank and its partners served an average of 2,500 low-income people and those facing a food emergency each week, distributing over 1 million pounds of food to those households in need ; and

WHILE, 40% of all Hays County Food Bank customers in 2021 were Kyle residents and an additional 23% of total partner nonprofits served were Kyle-based, including church and school pantries; and

WHILE, a $20 donation can provide 60 meals through the purchasing power of the food bank; and

WHILE, National Hunger Action Month is an effort by Feeding America to raise awareness of the hunger epidemic in the United States and to encourage individuals to take action in one form or another against hunger;

SO NOW, we, the Kyle City Council, by virtue of the authority vested in us, hereby proclaim the month of September 2022 as


in Kyle, TX and call on the people of Kyle to commit to taking action against hunger in our community, whether through fundraising, food donations, volunteerism or advocacy.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Mayor and Council of the Town of Kyle have affixed their names and caused the official seal of the Town of Kyle to be affixed in the Town of Kyle this 6e September day 2022.

Travis Mitchell, Mayor

Yvonne Flores-Cale, District 2 Council

Robert Rizo, Pro Tem Mayor, District 3 Council

Ashlee Bradshaw, District 4 Council

Daniela Parsley, District 5 Council

Michael Tobias, District 6 Council