Nutrition news

Nutrition Equity Improvement Program

KDHE Receives State Partnerships Program Grant for Improving Nutrition and Equity

TOPEKA – The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) is pleased to announce that the Community Health Promotion (CHP) team has been awarded the State Partnerships Improving Nutrition & Equity (SPINE) program grant from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE). National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD).

The CHP received $144,274 to support the one-year grant project. This grant project aims to implement sustainable and equitable environmental policies, systems and actions to achieve lifelong food and nutrition security.

“Even though Kansas is known for its food production, access to nutritious food remains a challenge for many Kansans,” said Courtney Koenig, physical activity and nutrition program manager at KDHE. “We are excited about this grant opportunity and look forward to beginning the work to improve access to nutritious foods in Kansas.”

For this year-long program, the CHP team will partner with the Kansas Food Action Network and focus its efforts on community engagement, evaluation, and building a food policy council in the Southwest region. of Kansas.

Health equity is the foundation of the SPINE program and will be integrated throughout the planning, action and evaluation stages, in addition to considering the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. Health equity can be defined as “when everyone, no matter who they are or where they come from, has a fair and equitable opportunity to experience their highest level of health and well-being. This requires removing barriers like poverty and redressing inequities in all systems that can impact the ability to experience health and well-being. These systems include education, criminal justice, health and transportation. (Modified from Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, “What is Health Equity?” and Colorado Department of Health and Environment)

Nine states were selected to receive the grant, including Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Nevada, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Oregon and Oklahoma.